In My place, In My Place

Well, just yesterday, I listening to my music on Ipod, and I wasn’t paying much attention to it, as I was looking at another screen- computer screen, but I don’t remember what I was looking on the internet, but at that time I stumbled upon this great song on my Ipod. After the song ended, I replayed it, and saw it was from my favorite band Coldplay, and the song’s name was”In My Place”.

I again played that song, and I wasn’t paying much attention to the lyrics, I was very happy that I found a perfect song to figure out on my keyboard, so I was fully focused on the background music, which was pretty neat and simple. The song has one of the most energetic chorus, and intro of the song is just captivating. Well, I gave the song a number of listens, and then I said to myself, “Go online and find the lyrics of this song”, and found the lyrics.
I was so amazed after I looked up the lyrics, because the song talked about same exact thoughts and feelings I felt when I was finally overcoming my difficult past.Well, the song talked about how the singer was in the past, lost in his own place. He went on to talk about how he can’t change the bad things that happened to him, in the past , of how these things have left a permanent mark on his life. It also talked about the bad deeds he had committed in the past, of how he had crossed lines that he shouldn’t have crossed.

The Artwork
The chorus, as I said, is very energetic and lively, but the bitter irony is that in it, he talks about how sad it is that it took him so long to overcome the past and that he had to pay an enormous price for it. Further on, the song went on to say that how a lover came into his life, but somehow couldn’t catch the signs, and she walked away from him, but still he waits for her relentlessly.
After listening to the song and then after reading the lyrics, I felt that this song describes my past. In the past, I suffered a lot, I couldn’t speak properly, express myself properly because of my braces(Lines I couldn’t change), moreover I was severely addicted to computer games(Lines I shouldn’t have crossed). For what I’m now, is the time I waited for so long, but I got this good life for the cost of my childhood, my dark past(How long must I pay for it). But the thing I cannot relate to, is the next verses, since I don’t have one in my life(:-P), but I’m sure everything else(next verses) will surely materialize in the future. The greatest irony of this song is that this song makes me feel happy, very lively, and I just sing the chorus a number of times, with the singer. 
Well there are some songs you listen which you instantly relate to, because they talk about your life so vividly , this song for me means so much and I’m happy I came across it. I think this is some sort of symbolic message life has sent me, that overcoming the past or being victorious over the demons of your past is so much more than being vengeful. 🙂